Today is a Precious Gift

Posted On November 10, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped one response

Sometimes life seems to go very slowly, especially when your children are small. There is a lot of monotony in our daily lives at that time. Washing dishes, washing clothes, washing little bodies, setting the table, clearing the table…the list goes on and on, doesn’t it? I remember when we had four children and the oldest was only two and a half. I literally felt like crying knowing that at the end of an exhausting day, I was only going to get up in the morning and do it all again.

Sometimes older ladies at church would say to me, “Oh enjoy these years, because they will grow up so fast.” I understand that a little better now as our oldest is now nineteen years old. But I want to encourage moms and anyone else reading today, who may not realize how precious today really is.

Have you ever said, “When they are out of diapers…”, “When they start walking…”, “When they start school…” – or, “When this house is paid off…when I retire….when I get a better job…” I like the saying, “Life is what happens when you are making other plans.” There is uniqueness in whatever season we are in. Nothing can take the place of the time we are living right now.

When our twins, Alex and Elisa, were born, we were, of course, so excited. There weren’t any twins on either side of our family. I knew just how life was going to be, right down to how I would dress them. But life didn’t turn out the way I had expected. Both kids were diagnosed with cerebral palsy and my heart was broken in a million pieces. I had never known so much devastation. Life wasn’t supposed to turn out this way. But somehow, life did go on and with it so many challenges and heartaches ahead.

Most of you reading this know that Alex, Elisa’s twin brother, died suddenly when he was four years old. Even though he had CP, he was so articulate and had such a love for the Lord. He had nearly died before from respiratory problems, and I think out of that experience, he had a special closeness with Jesus.

But after he died, I came  home and stood and looked at his clothes hanging in the closet and wondered, “Is this all I have left?” Nothing seemed very fair or just. It would be a whole other story to relate how the Lord was with us during that time.

But my point is this – that today is beautiful and precious no matter what difficulties we are facing. None of us are promised a tomorrow. Don’t worry if things aren’t happening in the time frame that you were hoping for. It just isn’t that important. Live the beautiful life you were given today.  I’m speaking to myself more thas anyone.  I have to remind myself that I can’t live in the future with all its uncertainties. This sunset, Caitlin’s 13th year, Nathaniel’s laugh, Evan’s job at Starbucks, Tyler’s senior year, Elisa’s insight into people, Noah’s love for football, kitchen cabinets opening and closing, footsteps on the stairs, dishes in the sink, still wiping noses (thankfully!), and beautiful holidays ahead with dear sweet family. Thank you, God, for life.

 

One Response to “Today is a Precious Gift”

  1. Cheryl Borg

    Wow…this was beautifully written and a timely word for me indeed. I had to read this a couple of times to allow the words to sink deep inside my soul. I love you Kathy…God bless.. Cheryl

Leave a Reply

